Wedding party

Conversation we had last night:

Ella – I wish I could marry you. Can kids marry their mum?
Me – No, it’s not allowed.
Ella – Why isn’t it allowed?
Me – It’s just the rule.
Ella – Mum, I want to come to your marry site.
Me – You mean wedding?
Ella – Yeah. I want to come to your wedding.
Me – Sure, if I ever get married, you can come to my wedding. But who would I marry?
Ella – I know! [Eyes glistenig at this fantastic idea] You can marry my daddy!
Me – [Chuckle] I don’t think so, sweetie.
Ella – Why not?
Me – We did already get married once.
Ella – When?
Me – Before you were born. And we didn’t think living together was all that much fun, so we would not get married again. You’ll have to think of someone else.
Ella – I know, you could marry Dan!
Me – No, I can’t.
Ella – Oh yeah.
Me – Because he’s already married to Neet.
Ella – [Obviously straining her brain to think of other male friends] You can marry a lady! Because that’s ok. I’m going to marry Camilla.
Me – But I don’t want to marry a woman.
Ella – You’ll just have to, mum.
Me – But I won’t. How about I just don’t get married then. That’s ok.
Ella – [Buries her head in the doonah and starts sobbing]
Me – [Laughing uncontrollably]
Ella – Don’t laugh!
Me – [Unable to stop laughing] But Ella, why are you so sad, sweetie?
Ella – [Looking past me with tears streaming down her face] Because you are not going to get married.
Me – [Another bout of belly laughter] Sorry Ella, but me not getting married is no big deal?
Ella – [Sobbing even harder] But I want to come to the party for your wedding!

It took me a while to stop laughing and I had to promise her to have a big party – like a wedding party – for my 40th next year before she calmed down. Sigh.

3 Responses to “Wedding party”

  1. jeanie Says:

    lol – kids love them some weddings.Of course, when you do provide one it sometimes doesn’t tick all the boxes (my niece told me mine was not “fairytale” enough).I think she has to understand what we all eventually find out – any excuse is excuse enough for a party!!

  2. Debby Says:

    Oh, my. Teach her about parties without nuptuals, right away!

  3. Neet Says:

    Hehehe!!! (does this mean that she thought our ‘wedding party’ was fun??) 🙂


Leave a Reply

