Playing families

Ella (from the sandpit) – Do you want an icecream?
Me – I’d love one!
Ella – What kind do you want?
Me – I want er… coffee!
Ella – I don’t have coffee
Me – Do you have er… banana icecream?
Ella – No, I have no banana.
Me – So what flavours do you have?
Ella – I have chocolate.
Me – Why do you ask what kind I want when you only have chocolate anyway?
Ella – Oh ok. I have berries, chocolate, strawberries…
Me – Ok, I’ll have chocolate after all.
Ella – Here you go. It’s a baby icecream because you are the baby. You are the baby and I am the mummy.
Me – (lick, lick, lick)
Can I have another one?
Ella – No, you can only have one.
Me – Waaa, waaaa! I want another one! Waaa! Waaa!
Ella – Ok baby, you can have another one.
Me – Maybe babies need to learn that they cannot have everything they want?
Ella – Oh. Baby you cannot have another one.
Me – Waaa, waaa, waaaa!
Ella – Oh baby, do you want a cuddle?

One Response to “Playing families”

  1. A Says:

    Gorgeous, Lin. What a great lesson and a great problem solver Ella is, offering baby a cuddle instead.


Leave a Reply

