Toilet wisdom

We had some bizarre conversations last night of which I only remember this one, when Ella went to the toilet after she’d gone to bed:

Ella – I’m doing a poo!
Me – That’s good that you went to the toilet to do a poo.
Ella – Because poo makes you strong, doesn’t it?
Me – Errr.

I have used the makes-you-strong motivator for all sorts of things from eating meat and veges to walking and riding the trike, but I swear I have never made a link between physical strength and poo! Not even during those early stages of toilet training when a significant proportion of our conversations seemed to revolve around toilet-related topics.

It reminded me of a story I believed my mother told me as a kid to explain how my sister got to have red hear. She said – as I remember it – that she went to see a scary movie when she was pregnant and she got such a fright that my sister’s hair turned red in the womb. I proudly relayed this explanation for red haired people – scientifically proven beyond any doubt – to my peers in primary school, who of course accepted this without questioning. And even when I got to the age where I accepted that it was just one of those stories parents tell their kids to stop the why questions, I still regularly told the story at dinner parties when the topic of the gullibility of children came up.

Until – when I was in my 30s – I reminded my mother of her telling me this and she flatly denied that she had ever told me such a thing. I’m still not a 100% convinced that she didn’t, because surely I wouldn’t have made a thing like that up myself?

So now I’m wondering if in 30 years time I’ll find myself in the awkward position of having to convince Ella that I never, ever told her that poo makes you strong.

2 Responses to “Toilet wisdom”

  1. jeanie Says:

    Oooh – some adults are gullible – a lady once told me you shouldn’t put milk in to coffee first, as you will end up with red-haired children.Sounds like she is very curious and wants to know the functionality – and therefore if lots of good things make you strong, pooing must be up there!

  2. Hildegard Says:

    Ha ha! Ik herinner me dat we het daar nog over hadden in het liedje dat we gemaakt hebben toen Reinhilde en Dirk zijn getrouwd šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

